The Last Beekeeper

The Last Beekeeper

Siya Turabi

$3.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

‘Reminds me of Khaled Hosseini, poignant and heartwarming… Simply a beautiful story that had me reading until 3:30 in the morning’ Sarah, NetGalley

‘I am a friend of the bees. Like you.’
‘So, you have been waiting for me?’
‘The forest has been waiting for you.’

Pakistan, 1974: The secret-wreathed trees of Harikaya have always called to Hassan. He knows if he doesn’t find the last beekeeper and salvage a precious jar of his mythical black honey before the floods come, his mother will lose her sight.

But then he wins a scholarship to study with the state governor in Karachi amidst a brewing storm of political turmoil and simmering espionage.

His entire world is turned upside down when he meets Maryam, the governor’s niece visiting from London.

All the while the fate of his mother and his promise to the bees calls him back to the forest, and so he must decide: Maryam or the beekeeper, England or Pakistan, his head or his heart.

One of the most exciting debuts of 2021, this is a lyrical historical novel of family, friendship, and self-discovery exploring the power of choice in a changing world and love in communion with nature. Perfect for fans of Christy Lefteri, Yann Martel, and Monique Roffey.

Praise for The Last Beekeeper:

‘An absolutely beautifully written novel’ Eszter, NetGalley

Magnificent and magical’ Kimberly, NetGalley

‘I thoroughly enjoyed this book and really appreciate the representation it gives my community’ Resham, NetGalley

Magnificent! Perfect for a long summer’s day spent in a hammock’ Literary Redhead, NetGalley

‘A beautiful story of finding hope’ Zoe, NetGalley

‘This is Siya Turabi’s debut novel… I fell in love with her lyrical writing, her vivid descriptions and her tale of family and friendship as well as her love of nature and the expression of its magic’ Norma, NetGalley

‘The story has a lot of magical elements and sort of a fairy tale feeling at times as poetry and the bees envelop Hassan’ Sara, NetGalley


Author

Siya Turabi:

Siya’s passion for writing and storytelling began early on in childhood when she read and imagined stories for her siblings.

From a family of poets and storytellers, she was born in Karachi and came to the UK as a two-year old with her parents. She was brought up in Manchester and moved to London to study Biochemical Engineering.

After a long, winding path as a student, teacher and art therapist, she started her first novel, The Last Beekeeper, at the age of 40.

Info

Reviews